CPL to start on August 28; final on September 19

The 2021 edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) will start on August 28 with the final set for September 19, the organising committee has confirmed. Like the 2020 season, the entire tournament will be held in a bio-bubble with the tournament moving from Trinidad & Tobago to St. Kitts and Nevis, with all the 33 games set to be played at the Warner Park.

With its ability to attract some of the best cricketers across the world, the CPL has fast turned out to be one of the biggest T20 franchise tournament and its global viewership was estimated at 523 million in 2020, a steep 67% increase in numbers when compared to that of the 2019 edition of the tournament.

Pete Russell, Hero CPL’s COO, said: “It is really exciting to have the tournament window for 2021 confirmed and I would like to thank the St Kitts & Nevis government for agreeing to host this year’s event. We would also like to extend our thanks to Cricket West Indies for helping us create this window in a busy summer of cricket for them. We are looking forward to once again successfully staging the Hero CPL in 2021.”

This year’s tournament will bring the curtains down on a packed home calendar for West Indies which is set to host South Africa (2 Tests and 5 T20Is), Australia (5 T20Is and 3 ODIs) and Pakistan (5 T20Is and 2 Tests) across various islands. (Story from Cricbuzz)


Published by

Michelangelo Jacobus

Sports Editor and Founder of 'The 592 Dugout'.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s